Audience Engagement
2 mins read

World Media Awards 2019: Open for entry

Entry for the World Media Awards 2019 – the only awards that celebrate the effectiveness of cross platform, cross border, content-driven advertising – has opened, with the announcement of a brand new category. 

The new “Content Leadership & Innovation Award” will be awarded to the individual recognised by peers for their talent in creating exemplary content-driven campaigns with brand bravery, creativity and innovation.

The independent World Media Awards (WMAs) are now in their fourth year and are hosted by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global publishers which aims to promote award-winning journalism and the role of international media. 

The Awards are unique in that all winners are featured in a world-wide winners’ ad campaign, valued at €500,000, which runs across member brands comprising The Atlantic, Bloomberg Media Group, The Economist, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, Reuters, The New York Times, Time, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post and Smithsonian Media.

How to enter: Entry to the WMAs is via their website, and is free of charge, although entrants can make a voluntary donation to Reporters Without Borders. Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least four countries and 75% of activity needs to have been implemented in 2018. Whilst PR and viral marketing may have added impact, campaigns must have been reliant on a strategic media spend.

There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is Thursday 7th February 2019.

Categories: This year there are nine Award categories and a Grand Prix selected by the jury from amongst the category winners, as follows:

Financial Services; Travel & Tourism; Technology and Telecoms; Lifestyle, Luxury & Fashion; Automotive; Corporate Influencer; Media & Entertainment; Brand/Media Partnership; Content Leadership & Innovation Award 

Awards event: The winners of the Awards will be announced at the exclusive World Media Awards Reception at the Ham Yard Hotel in London on 4th April 2019.  All shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase

Emma Winchurch-Beale, President of the World Media Group and International Sales Director at the Washington Post comments, “The World Media Awards and World Media Group’s success stems from the rise in the importance of good quality journalism and the realization that branded content is both elevated and absorbed more when positioned within a contextually relevant environment. Context and trust are essential components that help to both disrupt and engage consumers, who are subjected daily to a blizzard of information.”

Related posts

What's New In Publishing articles suggested by Bibblio
Helping publishers increase engagement, improve monetization and drive new audiences. Read more