Audience Engagement
3 mins read

Washington Post International Sales Director named as World Media Group President

Emma Winchurch-Beale Announces Deadline Extension for Entry to World Media Awards. 

Alongside her role as International Sales Director at The Washington Post, Emma Winchurch-Beale has been named as 2017 President of the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of the world’s leading international publications to which the Washington Post belongs. She takes over the year-long position from Rupert Turnbull, Vice President EMEA, Time Inc.

One of her first moves in this role is to announce a deadline extension for the World Media Awards (hosted by the World Media Group) from today to next Thursday 23rd February. The World Media Awards (WMAs) are the only awards that celebrate the effectiveness of cross platform, cross border, content-driven advertising.

Winchurch-Beale comments, “As the World Media Awards enter their second year, bigger and better than before, this is an exciting time to be Group President. In 2017 it’s important for the industry to understand the great richness and quality of today’s branded content and the huge value it can create for brands. We hope that the Awards will provide inspiration to others and a benchmark for what international branded content should achieve – hence why we are offering one more week for people to enter the Awards and show off their great content-driven campaigns.”

How to enter: Entry to the WMAs at is totally free but entrants have the option to make a voluntary donation to Reporters Without Borders. Ad campaigns must be content-driven and have intentionally targeted audiences in at least four countries, with 75% of activity having been implemented in 2016. All categories can be entered by advertisers and their media, PR and creative agencies while media owners are only permitted to enter the new Entertainment and Media category directly. There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries has been extended to Thursday 23rd February 2017.

Judging: To reflect the importance of collaboration between brands, agencies and media owners in creating successful international, content-driven advertising campaigns, the independent jury will number 30 heavy-weight judges from across all three sectors and is presided over by three Co-Heads: Ian Armstrong, Global Advertising General Manager, Jaguar Land Rover, Sanjay Nazerali, Global Chief Strategy Officer with Carat Global, and Raquel Bubar, Director T Brand Studio International at The New York Times.

Categories: There will be eight Award categories and a Grand Prix selected by the jury from amongst the category winners, as follows:

  • Automotive
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Financial Services
  • Foreign Direct Investment and Economic Development
  • Lifestyle & Luxury
  • (New) Media & Entertainment
  • Technology and Telecoms
  • Travel & Tourism

Winners’ perks: All category winners will see their work celebrated in an advertising campaign valued at €500K which will run across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands: The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Time, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Fortune, Forbes, The Economist and Bloomberg. In addition, a number of the winning case studies will be published in the World Media Awards showcase on the World Media Group website.

Awards event: The winners of the Awards will be announced at the exclusive World Media Awards Reception at the Ham Yard Hotel in London on Thursday 6th April 2017. All shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.