Digital Publishing
3 mins read

UK AOP Digital Publishing Awards 2022: Open for entries

The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) has announced its annual Digital Publishing Awards are open for entry. In collaboration with PubMatic, the awards will celebrate the talents and skills of the individuals and teams working to create, deliver, and monetise quality online content.

Now in their 20th year, the awards represent a benchmark standard for editorial, commercial, partnership and publishing excellence, with the deadline for this year’s entries falling on 24th March. After a long Covid-hit two years, the winners will be announced in-person at an awards dinner on 15th June 2022, Old Billingsgate, London.

The awards cover 24 categories and are open to both members and non-members of the AOP. Each category will be judged by an independent panel of digital experts including, Jo Holdaway, Chief Data and Marketing Officer at Independent Digital News and Media; Jenny Lundie, Media Director at Procter & Gamble; Viktoria Williams, Global Marketing Strategy and Capability Manager at British Airways; and Laura Wade, VP of Content and Innovation EMEA at Essence. The full list of judges can be viewed here

Dominic Carter, Group Chief Commercial Officer at News UK and Amanda Barnes, Chief Executive at Faversham House will be the co-chairs for this year’s awards.

“The past two years have been a whirlwind for the entire digital industry, so it’s extremely important to take the time to recognize those who have surpassed expectations,” said Richard Reeves, Managing Director at AOP. “While we could not host our annual AOP Awards dinner last year in light of Covid restrictions, I’m pleased to say our award celebrations are back in full force this year. With entries now open, I look forward to reading examples of exceptional agility and resilience in our industry.”

The full list of categories is as follows:

AOP Individual Excellence Awards

●      Journalist of the Year

●      Editor of the Year

●      Local Hero Award, sponsored by Google News Initiative

●      Sales Person of the Year

●      Rising Star

AOP Team Excellence Awards

●      Editorial Team of the Year: B2B

●      Editorial Team of the Year: Consumer

●      Sales Team of the Year

●      Advertising Operations Team of the Year

●      Product Development Team of the Year

●      Audience Development Team of the Year, sponsored by UKOM

AOP Digital Publishing Excellence Awards

●      Best Use of Video

●      Best Use of Audio

●      Best Diversification of Commercial Strategy

●      Best Creative Solutions Led / Content Marketing Campaign

●      Best Publisher-led Social Good Initiative or Campaign

●      Best Use of Data

●      Best Research / Insight Project

●      Best Digital Publishing Innovation

●      Best Media Technology Partner

●      The AOP Employer Excellence Award

The AOP Grand Prix

●      Best Online Brand: B2B

●      Best Online Brand: Consumer

●      Small Digital Publisher of the Year

Publishing companies who have demonstrated success across several categories in the AOP Awards will be invited to enter the final two categories, following the announcement of our finalists.

There will be no entry fee for these two grand prix categories, but a written submission will be required.

●      Best Digital B2B Publishing Company 2021, supported by PubMatic

●      Best Digital Consumer Publishing Company 2021, supported by PubMatic

Entries should be made online and can be entered here:
For more information visit