Digital Innovation Digital Publishing
3 mins read

Publishing industry gathers to celebrate achievements at the 42nd PPA Awards 2022

The publishing industry gathered this week at The Grosvenor House Hotel for the annual Professional Publishers Association (PPA) Awards.  Hosted by TV presenter Tess Daly, the industry celebrated the achievements of editors, their teams and the organisations that drive the sector.

The awards recognise winners in 28 categories, showcasing the best of the industry, from the writers and designers to those spearheading change and challenging the status quo in core areas of sustainability and diversity and inclusion. New categories added this year include: Newcomer of the Year and Future Leader of the Year.

The evening was accompanied by the award-winning AMC Gospel Choir, stars of BBC One’s Last Choir Standing.

It was a celebration of the ingenuity, creativity and forward-thinking initiatives that are driving the success of this industry.

I’d like to congratulate the shortlisted entries and the winners, who represent a cross section of specialist interest and multiplatform media on setting the benchmark of excellence so high.  We have an exciting future ahead of us.

Saj Merali, PPA CEO


  • PPA Innovation of the Year: Nexus – next generation account-based marketing, Incisive Nexus, Incisive Media
    Category sponsored by FT Strategies
  • PPA Designer of the Year: Peter Allen, Magneto, Hothouse Media

Category sponsored by AND

  • PPA Sustainability Award: Planet Hearst, Hearst UK
    Category sponsored by Denmaur Paper Media
  • PPA Columnist of the Year: Mark Ritson, Marketing Week, Centaur Media
  • PPA Industry Partner of the Year: Marketforce
  • PPA Magazine Retailer of the Year: Magazine Heaven
  • PPA Podcast of the Year: The Plodcast, BBC Countryfile Magazine, Our Media
  • PPA Unsung Hero of the Year: Sophie Dainty, Digital Spy, Hearst UK
  • PPA Newcomer of the Year: Amy Hopkins, APA Digital AG
  • PPA Future Leader of the Year: Rob Horgan, New Civil Engineer, Emap/Metropolis
  • PPA Children’s Magazine of the Year: The Week Junior, Future
  • PPA Diversity & Inclusion Award: Beano, DC Thomson

Category sponsored by NLA Media Access

  • PPA Campaign of the Year: Monty Don book campaign, BBC Gardeners’ World, Immediate Media

Category sponsored by DSB

  • PPA Content Agency of the Year: Think
  • PPA Market Intelligence Brand / Product of the Year: Signal, The Lawyer, Centaur Media
  • PPA Event of the Year (Business Media): Sustainable Investment Festival, Incisive Media

Category sponsored by Evessio

  • PPA Event of the Year (Consumer Media): PONY Magazine Big Day Out, DJ Murphy

Category sponsored by White Space Creative Solutions

  • PPA Commercial Partnership of the Year: The Big Issue together with O2: The National Databank Partnership

Category sponsored by Publishers Licensing Services (PLS)

  • PPA Subscriptions Strategy of the Year: A Subscriptions Workout: Strengthening our Core and Stretching, Hearst UK

Category sponsored by ESco

  • PPA Writer of the Year: Melissa Thompson, BBC Good Food, Immediate Media

Category sponsored by CLA

  • PPA Editor of the Year (Business Media): Jaimie Kaffash, Pulse, Cogora
  • PPA Team of the Year: Immediate People Team, Immediate Media
    Category sponsored by NewsTeam Group
  • PPA Cover of the Year
    GAY TIMES, GAY TIMES Group – category sponsor Shutterstock Editorial

Silver: Country Life, Future

Bronze: BBC Wildlife, Our Media

  • PPA Special Interest Magazine/Brand of the Year: Wanderlust, Wanderlust Travel Media
  • PPA Business Excellence Award – PPA’s Chair Award: Haymarket Media Group
  • PPA Media Brand of the Year (Business Media): Raconteur, Raconteur Media
    Category sponsored by Affino
  • PPA Media Brand of the Year (Consumer Media): BBC Good Food, Immediate Media
    Category sponsored by Air Business